About Courage

Courage, an apostolate of the Roman Catholic Church, ministers to those with same-sex attractions and their loved ones. We have been endorsed by the Pontifical Council for the Family, and our beloved John Paul II said of this ministry, “Courage is doing the work of God!”

By developing an interior life of chastity, which is the universal call to all Christians, one can move beyond the confines of the homosexual identity to a more complete one in Christ.  To help do this, five goals of Courage were created by members themselves when the apostolate was founded in 1980.  These goals are read at the start of each meeting and each member is called to practice them in his/her daily life.

1. Chastity

Live chaste lives in accordance with the Roman Catholic Church’s teaching on homosexuality.

2. Prayer and Dedication

Dedicate ones life to Christ through service to others, spiritual reading, prayer, meditation, individual spiritual direction, frequent attendance at Mass, and the frequent reception of the sacraments of Reconciliation and Holy Eucharist.

3.  Fellowship

Foster a spirit of fellowship in which all may share thoughts and experiences, and so ensure that no one will have to face the problems of homosexuality alone.

4.  Support

Be mindful of the truth that chaste friendships are not only possible but necessary in a chaste Christian life and in doing so provide encouragement to one another in forming and sustaining them.

5.  Good Example

Live lives that may serve as good examples to others.


For more information on the worldwide Courage organization, please visit the Courage Apostolate website at